MILSPRAY®

Where Innovation and Military Requirements Meet!

Feature Friday: Interview With Jack Hayford

Leave a comment

Interviw with Jack Hayford

This week we decided to spotlight one of our very own, Jack Hayford. Jack is a Coatings Chemist here at MILSPRAY™ and we had a fun time interviewing him this week. To find out more read the interview in it’s entirety below.


How did you first learn about MILSPRAY™?

I responded to a Coatings Chemist job posting.  After I had my first phone interview, I looked into the company further.

What is your role at MILSPRAY™?

I work on the development of new products and expanded uses of existing products to provide income for the company. 

If you could pick one theme for MILSPRAY™ to turn into a book about the company, what would it be?

Diversity, because both our people and the work we do cover a very broad range.

How has MILSPRAY™ helped you in your career development?

My work at MILSPRAY™ has allowed me to get back into the field for which I was trained.

If you could switch your job with anyone else within the company, whose job would you want?

I like where I’m at, so if I had to switch, I’d switch with Kevin C. so I would be doing pretty much the same thing and working with the same people.

What do you like most about MILSPRAY™?

I think MILSPRAY™ as a company treats employees very well.  Having been in a number of jobs throughout my life, I appreciate that more.

What have you gained from working at MILSPRAY™?

Obviously a job, but also an opportunity to live and work in a nice area.  My wife and I would never have planned to move to New Jersey, but this job brought us here and it has been a very positive development in our lives.

Seal Of New Jersey

What is on your wish list for the next 5 years with MILSPRAY™?

I hope that the company continues to grow and prosper.

What is a favorite line from any movie?

Captain Renault: What in heaven’s name brought you to Casablanca?

Rick: My health. I came to Casablanca for the waters.

Captain Renault: The waters? What waters? We’re in the desert.

Rick: I was misinformed.

Casablanca

Are you messy or organized?

I lean toward the messy side, but not in the extreme.

What is the best vacation you’ve been to?

Prince Edward Island

Confederation Bridge

Describe what you were like at age 10.

I was a fairly normal child, although I have always been somewhat reserved.

If given a chance, who would you like to be for a day?

Innocent Veniaminov

Innocent Veniaminov

If Hollywood made a movie about your life, who would you like to see cast as you?

I would like to see me cast as me.  Otherwise, some people have said that I resemble Peter Ustinov.

If you could be anyone from any time period who would it be and why?

1. Alldos IV of the Earth colonies of Omacron Ceti III in the year 2870 AD, because it would be interesting to see what the future is like.

2. Erasmus, because it would be interesting to be a renowned scholar at that particular time in history and to be involved in the controversies of the time.

Erasmus

Team Apple or Team Droid?

My cell phone is so old I don’t know if it uses either.

You’re happiest when?

Relaxing at home.


Jack HayfordJack Hayford is a Coatings Chemist in MILSPRAY’s R & D Department. Mr. Hayford’s background includes process and product improvement work for Kimberly Clark which included development and evaluation of surface sizing formulations and test development for analysis of alkyl ketene dimer. Coatings research at CD Products included development of water dispersed urethane coatings, the formulation of vapor inhibitive nano-particle infused epoxy coatings, and formulations of high solids urethane, epoxy, and polyurea coatings.

At MILSPRAY™, Mr. Hayford has been Project Leader for the development of impact resistant polymers as per Army Research Laboratory Contract #W911NF-09-02-0001 Multi-functional Stealth Coating; Project Leader for the integration of data acquisition and measurement systems to correlate low velocity impacts with ballistic impacts; and Project Leader for the development of optically clear structural fortification polymer systems.

He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry from Azusa Pacific University, and a Master of Science degree in Paper Science from the Institute of Paper Chemistry (now the Renewable Bioproducts Institute at Georgia Tech) where he specialized in corrosion engineering.

Leave a Reply

