MILSPRAY®

Where Innovation and Military Requirements Meet!

Winning With Women Wednesday: An Interview With Ebony L. Lattimer, Principal of The Titusville Academy, and Adjunct Professor for Fairleigh Dickinson University

Leave a comment

Ebony WWW

Ebony L. Lattimer is currently the principal of The Titusville Academy School for the Handicapped and is an adjunct professor at Fairleigh Dickinson University in the Petrocelli School, Masters of Public Administration Program.

 

Ebony 1Ebony has over fourteen years experience in education and began her career in Neptune Township, NJ Public Schools as a math and science teacher. During her tenure in Neptune, Ebony was also the Student Activities Director, Student Council Advisor, and National Junior Honor Society Advisor.  Ebony enjoyed the opportunity of impacting students both inside and outside of the classroom by utilizing community service as a way to strengthen ties between the students’ community and education.    By working various roles within the Neptune Public School District, Ebony was able to diversify her skill-set and strengthen her marketability within the field of education.  In 2013, Ebony began her career in Higher Education by joining the staff of Fairleigh Dickinson Universtiy as an adjunct professor.

Ebony earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from The University of Pittsburgh, in 1996, and earned a Masters Degree in Education Administration and Leadership from Georgian Court University in 2012.

Ebony resides in Monmouth County, NJ with her three children Kufere, Masai and Elon. She is also an active member of her sorority, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated. Ebony also enjoys extreme racing and workouts such as Tough Mudder and crossfit.

Get to Know Ebony

1. Ebony, What are 3-5 things you feel is necessary to do in order to be successful in the current role you are in? 

The five things I feel are necessary in order to be successful in my current role are knowledge, patience, empathy, strong communication skills and a sense of humor.

2. What do you feel has been your greatest accomplishment to this point in your career?  

My greatest accomplishment to this point in my career has been the opportunity to see former students be productive and positive members of society.

3. What was the “Aha” moment or turning point in your life that had a direct impact on your career and leadership? 

The turning point in my life that had a direct impact on my career and leadership was September 11, 2001.  The events of that day forced me to look eye-to-eye with what is truly important and jolted me into taking a more active role in leaving this world better than I found it.

4. If you had to start over from scratch, knowing what you know now, what would you do differently? Or if you had to live your life over again, what’s one thing you would change?

If I had to live my life over again, I would not change a single thing.  The challenges and the triumphs were all necessary for me to be where I am today; there are no accidents or coincidences.

5. Have you had mentors in your career along the way? If so, what was one of the core messages you had received from him/her? 

I have had mentors in my career along the way and one of the core messages I received was to never stop learning and growing, learning is a life-long activity.

6. What’s one of the toughest decisions you’ve had to make and how did it impact your life? 

One of the toughest decisions I have had to make was leaving my comfort zone in order to pursue a better opportunity.

7. What were some moments when you felt treated differently because you’re a woman?

One of the moments that I felt treated differently because I am a woman was during my pregnancy.  One of my supervisors not only believed but stated that pregnancy would affect my ability to think.

8. What career advice do you give younger women who are climbing the ladder of success and trying to manage life/work/balance? 

I would give younger women who are climbing the ladder of success and trying to manage the life/work balance would be to “put your oxygen mask on first;” you cannot be your best for anyone else if you are not your best for yourself first.

9. If you were to receive an award for, “Best At ____”. How would you fill in the blank and why?

If I were to receive an award for “Best At___,” it would be for “Seeing It Through,” because I live by the principles of perseverance, always doing your best, and finishing what you start.

10. What organizations/affiliations do you belong to that have really helped surround you with other successful women? 

Organizations that I belong to that have really helped surround me with other successful women are:

  1. Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated
  2. Pilgrim Baptist Church, Education Ministry
  3. The Continental Society of North Jersey

_________________________________________________________________

Do you know a Winning Woman who you feel should be featured on our Winning With Women Wednesday blog series?

If you would like to nominate someone, please feel free to send us their information and why you consider them an ideal candidate: Click here to send an email

Also, be sure to join the conversation on Twitter by adding the hashtag #WinningWithWomen to your tweets. Click here to “Follow Us”

Leave a Reply

